A Deeper Look Into Washington’s Theft Crimes
Burglary and robbery carry hefty penalties in Washington state. Perhaps the most serious offense under the umbrella of theft crimes is that of armed robbery, which is considered robbery in the first degree – a Class A felony.
What Makes a Robbery a Robbery in the First Degree?
In Washington State, a person is guilty of robbery when they take someone else’s property against their will by using or threatening to use force and violence. To be considered a robbery in the first degree, the defendant must do one of the following:
- Be armed with a deadly weapon
- Display what seems to be a firearm or deadly weapon
- Inflict physical harm
- Rob a financial institution
The Penalties of First-Degree Robbery
As a Class A violent felony, first-degree robbery convictions carry severe consequences. The exact sentence, however, will vary based on an individual’s criminal record.
Those without any prior criminal charges may be able to have their penalties reduced. A judge could order a sentence of 31 to 41 months to defendants without a criminal history. Repeat offenders, on the other hand, could be sentenced to 15 years in prison.
The prosecution could pursue a weapon enhancement for armed robbery. If successful, the defendant could be sentenced to an additional five years in prison.
Armed Robbery and Washington’s Three Strike Law
If the robbery is the defendant’s third strike, they could face even harsher consequences. A conviction could be punished by a maximum of life in prison, a fine of $50,000, or both.
Washington theft offenses carry serious penalties – but an arrest does not guarantee a conviction. If you or a loved one have been charged with armed robbery, contact Hester Law Group. Our attorneys will provide aggressive defense and fight tirelessly for your freedom. Call us today at (253) 300-3034 to get started.