Tacoma DUI Lawyer
Aggressive Defense Against DUI Charges in Pierce County
Getting stopped and arrested for DUI is scary. Most times, you are arrested, searched, and taken to jail. Your car is towed and impounded. You may be held in jail overnight without knowing when you will be released. You are told you can blow into the BAC (blood alcohol concentration) machine, but if you refuse, you are told the DOL will suspend your license. You are questioned but also told you can remain silent. Sometimes you’re driven home; sometimes, you’re allowed to bail out – other times, you might find yourself in front of a judge.
After such an event, it is normal to feel helpless, anxious, and possibly even angry about how you were treated. You will need someone to talk to, but you will want someone you can trust to keep things confidential. That is where Hester Law Group comes in. Our DUI attorneys in Tacoma have been helping individuals like you since 1968. We are experienced, caring, tough, and ready to fight for you throughout this personal crisis.
Washington State DUI Laws
You can be arrested for DUI in the following ways:
- You demonstrated impairment, as stated by law enforcement
- Your BAC measured .08 percent or higher
- Your blood measured a concentration of 5 nanograms or more of THC per milliliter
If you are under 21, you can be arrested with a BAC of .02 percent or more, which is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. You can be arrested with a BAC of only .04 percent if you hold a commercial license. Commercial drivers convicted of DUI will face CDL disqualification for at least a year.
You will face more severe penalties if your BAC measures .15 percent or higher. Also, penalties are more severe in cases of second, third, and subsequent arrests occurring over a specific time period.
What are the Penalties for a DUI?
In the state of Washington, penalties for a first offense can include the following:
- Jail time of up to a year.
- Fines of up to $5,000.
- Community service.
- The suspension of your driver’s license.
- Installation and maintenance of an ignition interlock device.
- Educational or substance abuse programs.
How Does a DUI Impact Your Driver's License?
The state of Washington and the court system can apply several penalties to drivers with DUI infractions. Some may include jail time, fines, traffic school, and possibly revoking driving privileges. You can lose your license anywhere from 90 days up to two years. This penalty is typically implemented 60 days after the initial arrest or notice of suspension through the court system.
After arrest or suspension notice, you have 20 days to request an administrative hearing. This administrative hearing can cost about $375 and is nonrefundable. The hearing is a chance for you to advocate your situation in the hopes of getting your DUI charge reduced or dismissed. This option could eliminate the impact on your record and driving ability. This administrative hearing is through the Washington Department of Licensing and is separate from the court system.
Contact Our Tacoma DUI Attorney Today
Every case is different in DUI, and our team works with your goals in mind. If you are innocent and want to go to trial, our Tacoma DUI lawyers will thoroughly investigate the case, file motions on your behalf, and vigorously protect your rights.
On the other hand, if you want us to seek a peaceful, speedy resolution, our defense attorneys can help you attain that goal. We understand damage control and are happy to help you achieve the best outcome for your needs.
Contact Hester Law Group today to schedule a FREE consultation with our DUI lawyer in Tacoma!
Accessible to Clients
We understand the urgency clients have when they need an attorney. We are available 24/7 to help you.
We Truly Care
We feel honored to help someone through the toughest time they will ever go through.
At Hester Law Group, we use a personal approach that best suits the needs of our clients.
We have been a successful team for two decades and have over 130 years of combined experience.