Drug Crime Attorney in Tacoma, WA
Offering Free Consultations With Pierce County Drug Defense Lawyers
Drug crime convictions can lead to an array of penalties, such as jail time, fines, probation, drug treatment programs, driver license suspensions, and more. If you are facing any type of drug crime allegation, it is critical that you seek the help of one of our Tacoma drug crime defense attorneys at Hester Law Group. Our firm is well-versed in state and federal drug laws and has a track record of successful criminal defense work.
With decades of experience handling all manner of drug offenses in and around the Tacoma area, our firm is poised to provide trustworthy and proven representation. All of our Tacoma criminal defense lawyers have logged in 25+ years in criminal defense. We are prepared to find sensible solutions to your drug charges while fiercely protecting your legal rights and best interests.
Call (253) 300-3034 or contact us online to schedule a free case evaluation today.
Washington State Drug Charge Penalties
In Washington State, drug offenses are often labeled VUCSA offenses because they fall under the Violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act. This act prohibits the use of street drugs and unauthorized prescription drugs. While marijuana has been legalized in the state for both medical and recreational purposes, restrictions still apply under the law.
Typical drug crimes in the state include:
- Drug paraphernalia
- Sales and delivery
Drug charges will range from the least serious Class C felonies to the most serious Class A felonies. Prison sentences for these offenses can range from 5 years up to life in prison with fines varying from $10,000 up to $50,000. How you will be charged in any drug offense will be based on the nature of the crime, any prior criminal history, and other factors such as where the crime took place, whether minors were involved, or whether deadly weapons were used.
Marijuana Drug Charges in Washington State
In the case of marijuana, only less than one ounce in your possession is legal for adults. Possession of more than one ounce up to 40 grams is charged as a misdemeanor carrying penalties of up to 90 days in jail and/or fines of up to $1,000. Possession of more than 40 grams is classified as a Class C felony.
Anyone under the age of 21 is not allowed to be in possession of any amount of marijuana. If you are underage and have been found in possession of less than 40 grams, you will face a misdemeanor charge that includes a 1-year license suspension upon conviction.
We are available 24/7 at (253) 300-3034 for legal assistance.
The Hester Law Group TeamClient-Focused and Results-Driven
Client TestimonialsRead What Our Clients Had to Say About Us
We Are the Team You Want on Your Side
Accessible to Clients
We understand the urgency clients have when they need an attorney. We are available 24/7 to help you.
We Truly Care
We feel honored to help someone through the toughest time they will ever go through.
At Hester Law Group, we use a personal approach that best suits the needs of our clients.
We have been a successful team for two decades and have over 130 years of combined experience.