DUIs prohibit individuals from driving while impaired in order to keep the roads safe. Alcohol-based DUI cases are widely understood, while the specifics of drug DUI crimes are slightly less known.
When a Driver Is Guilty of Drug DUI
Driving while impaired by any substance is illegal. Washington laws assert that an individual is guilty of driving under the influence of drugs if they:
- Have a THC concentration of 5.00 or higher within two hours of driving
- Are under the influence or affected by marijuana or any drug
- Are under the combined influence or affected by alcohol, marijuana, or drugs
The law is vague in the definition it offers for what constitutes being “under the influence of drugs.” Essentially, it is up to the responding police officer to make the determination based on the driver’s field sobriety tests and behavior.
DUI drug charges are not exclusive to illegal drugs. Even prescription and over-the-counter drugs can lead to a DUI drug conviction if they substantially impair one’s ability to operate a vehicle safely.
Penalties for Drug DUI
Drug DUI penalties increase with each subsequent offense. Guilty drivers will face:
- First offense: a fine of $350 to $5,000 and/or 1 day to 364 days in jail
- Second offense: a fine of $500 to $5,000 and/or 30 days to 364 days in jail
- Third offense: a fine of $1,000 to $5,000 and/or 90 days to 364 days in jail, and a six-month enrollment in the state’s 24/7 sobriety program
The court reports all DUI convictions to the Washington Department of Licensing. Upon receiving the news, they can revoke a person’s license.
Drug DUI accusations require powerful legal defense. Trust our attorneys to provide the representation you need to fight this charge. Contact Hester Law Group to schedule your free consultation today.